Bilbrey in runoff election for CalPERS Board seat

Former CSEA president and CalPERS Board incumbent Michael Bilbrey will face challenger Margaret Brown in a runoff election for the CalPERS Board, because no candidate received a majority of the votes cast for Position B. David Miller was declared the unofficial winner of Position A.

Bilbrey received 40.82 percent of the ballots cast for Position B, and Brown received 35.35 percent of the ballots cast for that position. A drawing will be held to determine ballot position for the runoff election.

Ballots for the runoff for Position B will be mailed on November 10, with a voting deadline of December 11.

Runoff Election: November 10 – December 11

Ballot packages will be mailed November 10, and the voting deadline is December 11. Eligible members will be able to cast their vote one of three ways: Online, by phone, or by mail. All three voting options are convenient, secure, and easy to use. Instructions on how to vote will be included in your ballot package.

This runoff election is being held to fill the representative seat known as Position B on the CalPERS Board of Administration. Position A was decided in an earlier election. However, no candidate for Position B received a majority vote, leading to a runoff between the top two vote getters. The terms of office for both Position A and Position B begin on January 16, 2018 and run through January 15, 2022.